All I Can Do Is Pray

25 Jul

Recently a lot of bad things have happened to a lot of people. Aurora, Colorado. A good friend didn’t get what sounded like the perfect job. A young man with so much potential took his own life. I hurt for my friends, for the people of Aurora. I wish there were some way to help this pain.

Somehow, even when speaking to my fellow Christians, I feel so powerless when I say, “I am praying for you.”

Why is that? We know that the prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective. We know that with God, all things are possible. We know that the Spirit intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express.

Prayer is an amazing weapon, an enduring comfort. But when “all I can do” is pray for someone, I feel weak.

Is it because I don’t know how to pray? Is it because I so rarely feel emotional when I pray? Is it because I am all too aware that I am far from being righteous?

Then again, who am I to denigrate God’s power just because I don’t feel it?

I don’t know. What I do know is that God isn’t answering my questions of “Why.” He has plans He isn’t sharing with me. His plans are always far, far better than anything we humans can come up with, but we can’t always glimpse them, so it’s hard to remember that.

And in the meantime, “all” I can do is pray.

Speak up!

