Midnight Confessions

17 May

Actually I’m writing this at 1:40 am. But it’s still the middle of the night, so the title counts.

Tonight I’m lonely.

It’s not that I’m sitting here longing for a husband, so much as sitting here longing for someone to validate me. Someone to tell me I’m not a failure, even though I can’t find a job. Someone to tell me I am smart. Someone to tell me I’m fun to be around. Someone to just remind me Jesus loves me.

That’s definitely one of the downsides to being single. Add to that being a night-owl who’s currently unemployed, and since I don’t have a spouse whom I could, selfishly, wake up and demand comfort from…

Yeah. Tonight I’m lonely.

6 Responses to “Midnight Confessions”

  1. Marlana Kaye May 17, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

    Girl-we all been there! Don’t know if you caught my post last week but I was also having one of those nights. Check it out here to see what I decided to do: http://oursinglepurpose.com/2012/05/11/i-am-gonna-stop/
    Don’t let the devil get ahold of you and bring you down. Focus on God’s single purpose for you!

    • SWC May 22, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

      Thanks! I commented over there, but just realized I forgot to answer you here. I really appreciate your encouragement!

  2. Debbie May 19, 2012 at 4:21 am #

    It’s hard. That’s all there is to it.
    I was married for 30 years and still didn’t have anyone to comfort me.
    Just a reminder – you ARE smart and Jesus does love you!

    • SWC May 22, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

      Thank you for your encouragement! I know that loneliness definitely isn’t the sole realm of single people. I think being single just makes me feel sorrier for myself when I am lonely. Heh.

  3. tacticianjenro May 23, 2012 at 11:43 pm #

    Jesus loves you! πŸ™‚

    • SWC May 24, 2012 at 3:42 pm #

      Thank you! πŸ˜€ He loves you too!

Speak up!

