[100 Things] Midnight Snacks

21 Apr

At 1:36 this morning, I had a snack. Not just any snack, either. Four pieces of toast–two with Nutella and two with butter & brown sugar. And some kind of Green Thunder Mio water drink. I’m not sure what flavor it’s supposed to be, because it tastes like candy.

I’m telling you all this, because I bet most of my married friends were asleep at 1:36 this morning. Unless they have newborns, in which case there’s a very good chance they’re awake, but they’re feeding someone else.

I learned about midnight snacks from my grandmother. I always slept in Grandma’s bed when I spent the night. I was a restless sleeper, and I don’t know if it was self-defense that prompted Grandma to start this, but sometime in the middle of the night, she and I would sneak out of bed, go to the kitchen, and have a snack.

Sometimes it was Pop-tarts. Sometimes cereal. Sometimes ice cream. In fact, sometimes Grandma would scramble an egg at midnight, because that’s what she wanted.

Maybe Grandma had midnight snacks before Grampa died. I don’t remember one way or the other.

But if you’re single, there’s no one to wake up and ask what you’re doing. There’s no one you have to share with. There’s no one to complain about the house smelling like popcorn at 1:36 am. If you’re single, your midnight snacks are no one’s business but your own.

Well.

And your cat. Because your cat will cuss you out if you don’t share.

 

This is part of my [100 Things About Being Single] series. It belongs to the [Great Things] sub-series. It’s also my first of the hundred posts.

2 Responses to “[100 Things] Midnight Snacks”

  1. Jennifer Wilson May 9, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

    I love this entry! As a night owl, I’m prone to the midnight snack. It’s nice to be single and not have to worry about waking someone else up when the urge to fix something to eat happens in the wee hours of the morning.

    Of course, in my case, I do have a roommate. Luckily for me, she’s a night owl as well. I also have a cat who insists he must at least see what I’m eating to determine whether or not it’s fit to share. šŸ˜‰

    • SWC May 9, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

      I’ve made a pretty strict rule about not sharing people food with these two cats, mostly because my last cat was such an unapologetic beggar that he would grab your arm as you raised the fork to your mouth. But the girl cat still nags for me to share, even though she knows I’m not going to! šŸ˜€

      At the moment, you know, I have a couple of housemates, so I try to sneak around a little while I’m making midnight snacks. And I never make popcorn. One of these days I’ll get back to living alone so I can make popcorn whenever I want it!

Speak up!

